te awa kairangi

back to ‘the source of all life..’


The end of the moon’s cycle signified the end of my time shared with Te Awakairangi river. I decided it would be good to film Mum performing a karakia to the river on returning the water. In the past I have refrained from recording this part of my process. However with the plight of our brothers & sisters in South Dakota, it seems to be the right time to stand in solidarity and include them in our prayers. River to river – wairua to wairua.



* tuahu

My daughter & I made a small tuahu, a discrete memorial made from collected rough stones, for my Tupuna Te Awakairangi, to commemorate our time together –  stones were collected from the direction of the four winds

Leave a Reply

